Taking Some Recovery Time | 05-09-16

I try to keep my personal life out of this blog because this is a place for my witchcraft; it is a safe place for my craft, my paganism, and for me to be the truest version of myself. I do however, need to detail why I have been somewhat inactive lately. I do not want to keep any of you, dearest readers, in the dark.

On the 9th of August, 2016, I was admitted to hospital for surgery on my breast. I won’t go into detail about what happened, but to summarise I will say this: 

I had an infection, that wasn’t treated properly initially and when I had a follow-up appointment 3 weeks later, the infection had turned to an abscess and my breast tissue had succumbed to necrosis. I had two operations to drain the abscess and remove the necrotic breast tissue, which has reduced my overall breast mass by around 20-30%.

LEFT: dressing post-op, no.1. RIGHT: the drain I had in overnight.
It was quite a traumatic experience and one I never want to go through again. Since I was discharged from hospital a few days after the surgery, I’ve been in recovery. I was given a massive dose of Clindamycin (antibiotics) to take to stop another infection from developing, and the side effects of such a huge dose included stomach pains and digestive distress, recurring migraines and light sensitivity; urinary tract and/or bladder infections, and exhaustion. I happened to have all of the aforementioned. Lucky, Roe! 

I’ve also had to have the wound packed. Yes, you read that right! Because I had the necrotic tissue (and the skin around it) removed, I was left with a lovely, juicy open wound. To stop it getting infected and to aid the healing process, I had to have some packing named Aquacell put inside the wound. I won’t go into detail but it was the most painful thing I’ve ever been through, and I have been through surgery and onset organ failure, to name a few of my experiences.

I still have to have it packed, but it’s no longer daily, which is nice. It’s nice to have a few days respite from everything.

The point of this post, is this: I am exhausted. I am still suffering from headaches and general tiredness, and this means that I don’t have the energy to practise witchcraft or work in my grimoire. 

I’ll be back at it soon enough, but until then, this is why I am inactive or passive. Swift winds, my friends.

Leave a Reply

